Community Literature

12th Annual Book Day

Presented by Irish Arts Center in association with the New York City Council, New York State Assembly, and Literature Ireland.


Free While supplies last!

Fri, Mar 15, 2024




Our wonderful community of volunteers and staff, sponsors and supporters will once again celebrate St. Patrick’s season by helping New Yorkers "get lit"! This year, we celebrate New York writers alongside authors from Ireland and the Irish diaspora. Come find us at one of our pop-up stations across the five boroughs, where we’ll be distributing thousands of free titles of all genres from 8am until the books run out.



  • Southeast corner of Roosevelt Avenue and 61st Street at Woodside / 61st Street stop on the 7 train, Woodside 
  • 37th Road "Diversity" Plaza between 74th and 73rd Streets, Jackson Heights 
  • Fresh Pond entrance to the M train, near 67th Avenue 

The Bronx

  • Buhre Avenue station, 6 train
  • 238th Street station, 1 train 


  • 4th Avenue between 68th and Bay Ridge Avenue, Bay Ridge Avenue station, R train 


  • 8th Avenue and 50th Street, 50th Street station, downtown C/E train 
  • 72nd and Broadway station, 1 train 
  • Grand Central (south corner of 42nd St and Park, in front of TD Bank) 
  • Chambers Street station, 1/2/3 train, corner of West Broadway and Chambers Street near Bogardus Plaza

Staten Island

  • St. George Ferry Terminal 

Follow us on Instagram, Twitter, or Facebook for any updates!

Councilmember Julie Won, Queens
Councilmember Justin Brannan, Brooklyn
Councilmember Shekar Krishnan, Queens
Councilmember Eric Dinowitz, Bronx
Councilmember Robert Holden, Queens
Councilmember Erik Bottcher, Manhattan
Councilmember Gale Brewer, Manhattan
Councilmember Keith Powers, Manhattan
Councilmember Adrienne E. Adams, Speaker, Queens
Councilmember Kristy Marmorato, Bronx

Mark Levine, Manhattan Borough President

Assemblymember Linda Rosenthal, Manhattan 

Senator Brad Hoylman-Sigal, Manhattan
Senator Brian Kavanagh, Manhattan

Commodore Construction
Sweeney & Harkin 

Akashic Books, Alfred A. Knopf Publishers, Archipelago Books, Beacon Press, Blauner Books, Book Culture, Candlewick Press, Every Thing Goes, FSG, Gallery Press, Gill Books, Graywolf Press, Grove Atlantic, Harper Perennial, Harper Perennial and Harper Paperbacks, Kensington Publishing Corp, Literary Inc, Literary Freedom Project, New York Review Books, O'Brien Press, Penguin Random House, Picador, Riverhead, Seven Stories Press, Simon & Schuster, TCG Books, The Bronx is Reading, The Center for Fiction, The GAA Museum, Tramp Press, Wake Forest University Press, William Morrow, WW Norton

Caio Fernando Abreu, Molly Aitken, Nuar Alsadir, Annie Baker, John Banville, Joe Barr, Colin Barrett, Kevin Barry, Carlene Bauer, Samuel Beckett, Ciaran Berry, Jake Bittle, Caroline Blackwood, Anne Bogart, Rosita Boland, Christin Brecher, Lee Breuer, Patrick Bringley, John Burke, Fatti Burke, Shauna Burke, Tara Isabella Burton, Gabriel Byrne, Jason Byrne, Ciaran Carson, Sarah Cassidy, Lisa Childs, Caitriona Clutterbuck, Rachel Connolly, Claire Coughlan, Ellen Coyne, Aisling Creegan, Sloane Crosley, Dermot Crowe,Shauna Cummins, Janet Dailey, Gerry Dawe, Maddie Day, Nabaneeta Dev Sen, Michael Egan, Peggy Ehrhrat, Unai Elorrriaga, Will Eno, Anne Enright, Dominique Fabre, Peter Fallon. J. G. Farrell, Brian Fiel, John FitzGerald, Nick Flynn, Richard Foreman, Julia Fox, Tom French, Tess Gallagher, Diana Goetsch, David Graeber, Stephen Greco, Jesse Greene, Jarlath Gregory, Eamon Grennan, Vona Groarke, Stephen Adly Guirgis, Saskia Hamilton, Darci Hannah, Kerry Hardie, Jordan Harrison, Michael Hartnett, Gerald Hayes, Seamus Heaney, Will Hermes, Tom Hoagland, Lee Hollis, Hubbard, Gray, Lauer, Quiara Alegría Hudes,Caoilinn Hughes, Pearse Hutchinson, Liz Ireland, Yasmeen Ismai,l Lucy Ives, Julie Kvanagh, Claire Keegan, Louise Kennedy, Celine Kiernan, Tom Kilroy, Judith Kitchen, Susan Kuklin, Tony Kushner, Shelly Laurenston, Francis Ledwidge, Young Jean Lee, Mario Levrero, Paul Lynch, Sean Lysaght, Aifric MacAodha, Michael Patrick MacDonald, Deirde Madden, Audrey Magee, Michael Magee, Derek Mahon, Saadat Hasan Manto, Kat Martin, Melanie Maure, Richard Maxwell, John McAuliffe, Colum McCann, Frank McCourt, Alice McDermot, Patrice McDonough, Kunak McGann, Oisín McGann, Medbh McGuckian, Frank McGuinness, Erin McKeown, Maureen N. McLane, Conor McPherson, Leslie Meier, Pierre Michon, Audrey Molloy, John Montague, Brian Moore, Paul Muldoon, Sabina Murray, Catie Murphy, Eilean Ni Chuilleanain, Annemarie Ni Churreain, Nuala Ni Dhomhnaill, Lynn Nottage, Stephen Nunns, Enda O'Brein, Kavin O'Brien, Conor O'Callaghan, Mark O'Connell, Nuala O'Connor, Carlene O'Connor, Rory O'Connor, John O'Donohue, Maggie O'Farrell, Priscilla Oliveras, Diarmaid O'Muirithe, Luke O'Neill, Frank Ormsby, Michelle O'Sullivan, Suzan-Lori Parks, Chris Pavone, Nicola Pierce, Kevin Powell, Justin Quinne, Mary Rodgers, W. R. Rodgers, Robert Rorke, Barbara Ross, Sarah Ruhl, Dean Ruxton, Elizabeth Schmidt, Ankara Schofield, Martin Shaw, Wallace Shawn, Bex Shelford, Claire Shwartz, James Simmons, Peter Sirr, Betty Smith, Susan Sontag, Kerrelyn Sparks, Minerva Spencer, Antinio Tabucci, Kate Tamberelli, Danny Tamberelli, Matt Thomas, Judith Thurman, Nicole Treska, Molly Twomey, Eoghan Walls, Sally Wen Mao, Edith Wharton, David Wheatley, Dermot Whelan, Grace Wilentz, Billy Dee Williams, William Butler Yeats, Monica Youn

Presented with generous support from The Friendly Sons of St. Patrick, New York, Culture Ireland, the Adrian Brinkerhoff Foundation, and the American Irish Teachers Association.





Our Supporters

Irish Arts Center programs are supported, in part, by government, foundation, and corporate partners including Culture Ireland, the agency for the promotion of Irish arts worldwide; public funds from the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs, in partnership with the Mayor’s Office and the New York City Council; the New York State Council on the Arts with the support of Governor Kathy Hochul and the New York State Legislature; Howard Gilman Foundation; Tourism Ireland; the Jerome L. Greene Foundation; the Adrian Brinkerhoff Poetry Foundation; the Charina Endowment Fund; the Ireland Funds; the Shubert Foundation, Inc.; the Arnhold Foundation; the Fan Fox and Leslie R. Samuels Foundation; the Irish Institute of New York; the Society of the Friendly Sons of St. Patrick, New York; Northern Ireland Bureau; Invest NI; CIE Tours International; the Department of Foreign Affairs and the Consulate of Ireland in New York; and thousands of generous donors like you.


Thanks for signing up!

Sorry, something went wrong