Dance

Dancer from the Dance Festival of Irish Choreography

Curated by John Scott, artistic director of Irish Modern Dance Theatre

Details

Date(s)

Jun 29, 2020 – Jul 3, 2020

Contact

Box Office

866-811-4111

info@irishartscenter.org
Location

irishmoderndancetheatre.com

Overview

John Scott’s Irish Modern Dance Theatre, in partnership with Culture Ireland, Dance Ireland, Project Arts Centre, Dance Limerick, Irish Arts Center and Centre Culturel Irlandais, presents Dancer from the Dance, a week-long online celebration of 32 choreographers from Ireland and the Irish diaspora who cross national borders, practices, ethnicities, and generations.

Watch the trailer 

DFTW_Morgan-still_thumbnail_play.jpg#asset:9927




FESTIVAL PROGRAM
JUNE 29–JULY 3

Festival Launch & Public Talk: How the Body Carries Stories
Arts Council Director Maureen Kennelly will launch Dancer from the Dance: Festival of Irish choreography tomorrow evening at 5pm, followed by our first event: How the Body Carries Stories. Michael Seaver (Moderator), Morgan Bullock, Siobhan Burke, Louise Costelloe, Sibéal Davitt, Rachael Gilkey, Fearghus Ó Conchúir, Seona MacReamoinn, Tobi Omoteso, Linda Murray, Laurie Uprichard.

- 3 Programmes of Dance Performances and Films by 32 Choreographers: Muirne Bloomer & Emma O’Kane (Ire), David Bolger/CoisCéim Dance Theatre (Ire), Morgan Bullock (USA), Darrah Carr/Darrah Carr Dance Co (USA), Seán Curran/Seán Curran Co (USA), Sibéal Davitt (Ire), Junk Ensemble (Ire), Oona Doherty (NI), Justine Doswell (Ire), Jeanine Durning (USA), Nic Gareiss (USA), Deirdre Griffin (Ire), Lucia Kickham (Ire), Laura Macken (Ire), Aoife McAtamney (Ire), Eileen McClory/Off the Rails Dance Co (NI), Laura Murphy (Ire),  Ingrid Naschtern (Ire), Isabella Oberlander (Ire), Fearghus Ó Conchúir & Sarah Browne (Ire), Ruairí Ó’Donnabháin (Ire), Tobi Omoteso (Ire), Alex O’Neill (Ire), Ryan O’Neill/Maiden Voyage Dance Co (NI), Liam O’Scanláin (Ire), Fiona Quilligan (Ire), John Scott /Irish Modern Dance Theatre (Ire), Áine Stapleton (Ire), Mary Wycherley (Ire), Mufutau Yusuf (Ire). 

- Master Classes and Workshops: Ashley Chen, Faye Driscoll, Peggy Gould, Gesel Mason, Liam O' Scanláin, Rachel Sheil, Cheryl Therrien.  

- Merce Cunningham Program

- Céilí with live music

Streaming on Irish Modern Dance Theatre's Facebook and YouTube.



FULL SCHEDULE OF EVENTS


Monday, June 29
5am EDT /10am IST
Live Zoom Cunningham Masterclass with Cheryl Therrien
REGISTER >

10am EDT / 3pm IST
Live Zoom Sean-nós Beginners Workshop with Liam O' Scanlán
REGISTER >

12pm EDT / 5pm IST
FESTIVAL LAUNCH
Followed by Live Panel Discussion with Michael Seaver (moderator): How the Body Carries Public Stories

Tuesday, June 30
5am EDT / 10am IST
Live Zoom Cunningham Masterclass with Ashley Chen

12pm EDT / 5pm IST
Live Zoom Workshop with Peggy Gould
REGISTER >

2:30pm EDT / 7:30pm IST
Livestreamed Dance Performance
Program 1

3:30pm EDT / 8:30pm IST
Live post-performance talkback

Wednesday, July 1 
5am EDT / 10am IST
Live Zoom Cunningham Masterclass with Cheryl Therrien 
REGISTER >

12pm EDT / 5pm IST
Live Zoom Workshop with Faye Driscoll
REGISTER >

2:30pm EDT / 7:30pm IST
Livestreamed Dance Performance
Program 2

3:30pm EDT / 8:30pm IST
Live post-performance talkback

Thursday, July 2
5am EDT / 10am IST
Live Zoom Cunningham Masterclass with Ashley Chen

10pm EDT / 3pm IST
Live Zoom Workshop with Gesel Mason 

2:30pm EDT / 7:30pm IST
Film Showings by Junk Ensemble, Ingrid Nachstern, Fiona Quilligan, Maiden Voyage/Ryan O'Neill, Áine Stapleton, Mary Wycherley
Live post-performance talkback

Friday 3 July
5am EDT / 10am IST
Live Zoom Cunningham Masterclass with Cheryl Therrien
REGISTER >

12pm EDT / 5pm IST — Live Zoom Youth Dance Workshop Rachel Sheil
REGISTER >

3pm EDT / 8pm IST
Live Céilí



Dancer from the Dance was launched at 92nd Street Y in April 2019 in collaboration with Irish Arts Center, guest curated by John Scott and supported by Culture Ireland.

Our Supporters

Irish Arts Center programs are supported, in part, by government, foundation, and corporate partners including Culture Ireland, the agency for the promotion of Irish arts worldwide; public funds from the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs, in partnership with the Mayor’s Office and the New York City Council; the New York State Council on the Arts with the support of Governor Andrew Cuomo and the New York State Legislature; the National Endowment for the Arts; Howard Gilman Foundation; Jerome L. Greene Foundation; the Charina Endowment Fund; The Shubert Foundation, Inc.; M&T Bank; The Ireland Funds; Northern Ireland Bureau; the Department of Foreign Affairs and the Consulate of Ireland in New York; Tourism Ireland; CIE Tours; Delta; and thousands of generous donors like you.

Thanks for signing up!

Sorry, something went wrong