Literature At Home With Irish Arts Center

At Home With Irish Arts Center: 12th Annual PoetryFest

Our first ever digital festival

Details

Ticket revenue from the Favorite Poems opening night event traditionally helps support an otherwise free festival that's open to all. This year, *all* the weekend's events are free, but we welcome donations in any amount as a part of your registration.
Date(s)

Nov 6, 2020 – Nov 7, 2020

Contact

Box office: 888-616-0274
10am-6pm, Monday-Friday 

info@irishartscenter.org

Overview

Curated by Nick Laird
Presented in association with Glucksman Ireland House NYU

Our 12th annual—and first digital—festival, with curator Nick Laird convening five poets from Ireland and North America for a virtual celebration of verse. Join us first for Favorite Irish Poems on Friday night, the opening night tradition of special guests and festival participants sharing the Irish verses they love most, followed by a Saturday afternoon of readings and conversations.


 
FRIDAY, NOVEMBER 6
8pm EST / 1am IST
Favorite Irish Poems
Emma Dabiri, Ailbhe Darcy, Kit de Waal, Miriam GambleTerrance Hayes, Nick Laird, Ada Limón, Belinda McKeon, Paula Meehan, Graham Norton, Katie Raissian, Leanne Shapton and Zadie Smith, plus Ciaran O'Reilly and Charlotte Moore of the Irish Repertory Theatre, John Waters of Glucksman Ireland House, Brendan Costello of Irish American Writers & Artists, and George Heslin of the New York Irish Center

JOIN US ON FACEBOOK >
JOIN US ON YOUTUBE >



SATURDAY, NOVEMBER 7

Opening Reading 
1pm EST / 6pm IST 
Ailbhe Darcy, Ada Limón, and Miriam Gamble
Introduction: Nick Laird 

Desert Island Poems 
2pm EST / 7pm IST 
Paula Meehan and Terrance Hayes
discuss with Nick Laird the poems they would want with them if stranded

Closing Reading 
3:15pm EST / 8:15 IST 
Paula Meehan and Terrance Hayes 
Introduction: Nick Laird

JOIN US on FACEBOOK >
JOIN US ON YOUTUBE >



With Our Partners at Glucksman Ireland House
THURSDAY, NOVEMBER 5
The Tom Quinlan Lecture in Poetry
WATCH >



Books by festival poets are available through the following sites. If you would like to request a signed book plate for newly purchased or already-owned books, please fill out this form by November 16, 12pm EST.

Ailbhe Darcy: Insistence 

US: bookshop.org/insistence
Ireland/UK: bloodaxebooks.com/insistence

Miriam Gamble: What Planet
US: bookshop.org/what-planet
Ireland/UK: bloodaxebooks.com/what-planet

Terrance Hayes: American Sonnets for My Past and Future Assassin
bookshop.org/american-sonnets-for-my-past-and-future-assassin

Nick Laird: Feel Free
wwnorton.com/feel-free

Ada Limón: The Carrying
adalimon.com/the-carrying

Paula Meehan: As If By Magic
gutterbookshop.com/as-if-by-magic



PoetryFest's Favorite Irish Poems event was inspired in part by Robert Pinsky's Favorite Poem Project.

Our Supporters

Irish Arts Center programs are supported, in part, by government, foundation, and corporate partners including Culture Ireland, the agency for the promotion of Irish arts worldwide; public funds from the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs, in partnership with the Mayor’s Office and the New York City Council; the New York State Council on the Arts with the support of Governor Andrew Cuomo and the New York State Legislature; the National Endowment for the Arts; Howard Gilman Foundation; Jerome L. Greene Foundation; the Charina Endowment Fund; The Shubert Foundation, Inc.; M&T Bank; The Ireland Funds; Northern Ireland Bureau; the Department of Foreign Affairs and the Consulate of Ireland in New York; Tourism Ireland; CIE Tours; Delta; and thousands of generous donors like you.

Thanks for signing up!

Sorry, something went wrong