Language Community

Féile na Gaeilge / Irish Language Day 2021

An Teanga agus An Tírdhreach / Language and Landscape

Details

This event is free, but Irish Arts Center programming is only possible because of friends and supporters like you. Please consider making a donation as a part of your registration.
Date(s)

Sun, Apr 18, 2021

12:00pm

Contact

Box Office

888-616-0274
10am-6pm, Monday-Friday

info@irishartscenter.org

Overview

Our 2021 celebration of the Irish language explores its connection to land, sea, and sky through a mix of literature, music, media, and conversation. Writer and documentary-maker Manchán Magan anchors each of the day's programs with fascinating examinations of how ideas of ecology, sustainability, and identity are encoded in ancient words, and what wisdom we risk losing if we allow our once-native languages to disappear. For Gaeilge enthusiasts and speakers of all levels—even those of you who are only curious!

Irish Language Day activities are free, but you MUST register in order to receive the Zoom link. (Please note that this event is live and may not be available to view after its initial airing.)

REGISTER >


12pm–1pm ET (5pm–6pm IST)
DIY Gaeilge: A Crash Course in the Best Online Irish language Resources
Join Úna-Minh Kavanagh for an informative, hour-long presentation with introductory Irish language phrases and many online Irish language resources to kickstart your journey.

1pm–1:45pm ET (6pm–6:45pm IST)
Sea / Farraige

A Song for the Sea with Nell Ní Chróinín

Screening of excerpts from Sea Tamagotchi, a series of short films by Manchán Magan featuring sea words, maritime terms and coastal customs, edited by Lauren Varian with footage from Myles O’Reilly and sound from Brían MacGloinn and Clare Sands. The screening will be followed by a conversation and Q&A with Magan and Padraig S Ó Murchú of the Turas Siar Language and Culture Research & Genealogy Centre.

1:45pm-2:30pm ET (6:45pm-7:30pm IST)
Sky / Spéir

A Song for the Sky with Nell Ní Chróinín

Flashes from the Past: The Night Sky in Irish Folklore (Lasair an Dúchais: Spéir na hOíche i mBéaloideas na hÉireann)
Presentation and conversation with Manchán Magan and Seán Mac an tSíthigh uncovering forgotten aspects of the night sky, as represented in Irish folklore. Colorful names, valuable functions, and complex beliefs associated with the moon and stars will be presented, providing a unique window on how our Gaelic ancestors once understood and engaged with the night sky.

2:30pm-3:15pm ET (7:30pm-8:15pm IST)
Land / Talamh

A Song for the Land with Nell Ní Chróinín

Anna Luisa Daigneault, program director at the Living Tongues Institute for Endangered Languages, interviews Manchán Magan on his book Thirty-Two Words for Field.

3:15pm-4pm ET (8:15pm-9pm IST)
Tea and Conversation Circles
Facilitated by IAC language instructors Siobhán Ní Chiobháin (beginners & advanced beginners) and Caoimhe Nic Giollarnáith (intermediate & advanced), discuss the day’s events with your fellow Gaeilgeoirí!


Recommended Reading: 

Thirty-Two Words for Field: Lost Words of the Irish Landscape by Manchán Manchan
We recommend ordering from the Book Depository, which offers free worldwide delivery (5-8 business days to the US) 

Recommended Listening:

Literature Ireland’s latest Talking Translations podcast: "Podchraoladh nua de chuid Litríocht Éireann—Mo Bhealach Féin" (Seosamh Mac Grianna) ǀ "This Road of Mine" (Mícheál Ó hAodha)
Find it on the Literature Ireland website, Spotify, Google, or Apple Podcasts.

Our Supporters

Irish Arts Center programs are supported, in part, by government, foundation, and corporate partners including Culture Ireland, the agency for the promotion of Irish arts worldwide; public funds from the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs, in partnership with the Mayor’s Office and the New York City Council; the New York State Council on the Arts with the support of Governor Andrew Cuomo and the New York State Legislature; the National Endowment for the Arts; Howard Gilman Foundation; Jerome L. Greene Foundation; the Charina Endowment Fund; The Shubert Foundation, Inc.; M&T Bank; The Ireland Funds; Northern Ireland Bureau; the Department of Foreign Affairs and the Consulate of Ireland in New York; Tourism Ireland; CIE Tours; Delta; and thousands of generous donors like you.

Thanks for signing up!

Sorry, something went wrong